Manuela Tesse names final squad for final two UEFA Women’s Nations League fixtures

Women’s national team Head Coach Manuela Tesse has announced the final twenty-three-player squad ahead of the last two encounters in League C1 of the UEFA Women’s Nations League.  Malta is set to face Moldova in an away fixture on Friday 1st December, kick off 15.00 at the Stadionul Zimbru, Chisnau. 

The final and all-important match against Latvia, will be played at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday 5th December, kick off 16.00. 

Malta WNT are currently leaders of the group, after winning all four matches played.  Malta has already played against Moldova in a home game last September winning the encounter two goals to nil.  Moldova is currently holding the last position in the group having lost three matches but obtained a point in a draw against Latvia in a thrilling game. 

The last game of the group against Latvia is the one which could see the WNT obtaining a historic promotion to League B.  Malta has already won the away encounter with a late Bugeja goal in the opening game of the group against a very strong Latvia.   

The team is set to start training together this Sunday with the foreign-based players joining the squad on Monday.

WNT Final 23 Player Squad


Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara), Raisa Costantino (SPD Tharros, ITA)


Emma Lipman (Como, ITA), Charlene Zammit (Birkirkara), Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara), Jessica Lee Dimech (Swieqi United), Valentina Rapa (Birkirkara), Emma Xuereb (Swieqi United), Ann Marie Said (Birkirkara), Tammy Falzon (Swieqi United), Jade Schembri (Swieqi United)


Rachel Cuschieri (Sampdoria, ITA), Shona Zammit (Swieqi United), Brenda Borg (Mgarr United), Nicole Sciberras (Hibernians), Veronique Mifsud (Birkirkara), Dorianne Theuma (Swieqi United)


Maria Farrugia (Lewes FC, ENG), Kailey Willis (Meran Women, ITA), Haley Bugeja (Inter Milano, ITA), Ylenia Carabott (London Seaward FC, ENG), Alishia Sultana (Birkirkara), Maya Lucia (ZNK Split, CRO)