IZIBET Amateur League: Marsaskala move top as Mgarr lose to Vittoriosa

Marsaskala moved top in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they defeated St. George’s 2-0 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Kieran Degiorgio opened the score on the 38th and Nobukatsu Tsuchiya sealed the issue with a second goal ten minutes from time.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Mgarr United were beaten 4-3 by Vittoriosa Stars. Adrian Borg put Mgarr ahead on the 8th minute but seven minutes in the second half, Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe equalised and the same player made it 2-1 on the 64th. Kyle Frendo restored equilibrium on the 70th but goals by Larens Vella on the 75th and 93rd extended the lead although Frendo reduced the gap for Mgarr.

In another match at the same venue, Gharghur scored a goal three minutes in added time through Kevin Camilleri to hold Qormi in a 1-1 draw after Jake Bone had put the latter ahead on the 9th minute.

At the Charles Abela Stadium, a goal by Dale Tabone five minutes in the second half handed Kirkop United a narrow win over Ghaxaq.

Ta’ Xbiex defeated Dingli Swallows 2-1 in another match at the Charles Abela Stadium. Stefi Cale put Ta’ Xbiex ahead on the 10th and although Shamison Farrugia equalised on the 26th, Nicholas Scicluna notched the winner ten minutes from time.

Marsaskala lead the way with 18 points, followed by Mgarr on 17, St. George’s 16, San Gwann 14, Kirkop 13, Qormi 12, Gharghur 11, Vittoriosa 9, Ghaxaq and Ta’ Xbiex 6 and Dingli 4.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables