IZIBET Amateur League: Mtarfa make it five wins in a row

Mtarfa registered a fifth consecutive win in Group A of the IZIBET Amateur League as they beat Mellieha 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Luka Mijic converted a penalty to put Mellieha ahead on the 13th but Kurt Borg equalised on the 34th and Gianfranco Micallef made it 2-1 one minute from the end of the first half.

Birzebbuga St. Peter’s defeated Mqabba 4-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Lee Joe Schembri put the Saints ahead on the 4th minute and Samuel Saldanha doubled the score on the 19th. Andres Tenorio Viveros converted a penalty for Mqabba one minute from the end of the first half but in added time, Saldanha restored the two-goal lead. Pedro Moscardo de Salles Martins made it 4-1 on the 75th.

A penalty by Clyde Bouvet on the 33rd and a goal by Yuya Emura on the 69th enabled Rabat Ajax to return to winning ways as they defeated Mdina Knights 2-0 at the Charles Abela Stadium.

Siggiewi returned to winning ways as they beat Kalkara United 3-2 in dramatic fashion at the Sirens Stadium. Shylon Vella put Siggiewi ahead on the hour but three minutes later, Thomas Grima equalised. Jamil Harb made it 2-1 for Kalkara on the 90th but Jake Milwyn Davies levelled matters on the 96th and a minute later, Lincoln Micallef notched the winner.

Mtarfa lead the way with 25 points, followed by Qrendi on 22, Birzebbuga 18, Rabat and Xghajra 17, Pembroke 15, Sta. Venera 14, Mqabba 12, Mellieha 11, Kalkara 9, Siggiewi 7 and Mdina 1.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables