IZIBET Amateur League: Kirkop hit nine past Dingli

Kirkop United moved second in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they registered a most comfortable 9-1 win over Dingli Swallows at the Charles Abela Stadium on Sunday.

Giovanni Galea put Kirkop ahead on the 15th and Alexander Cauchi doubled the score four minutes from the end of the first half. Peter Pedro Axisa converted a penalty on the 59th for Dingli but Dhonatan Santos da Hora made it 3-1 on the 64th. Giovanni Galea extended the lead on the 71st and two minutes later, Ryan Dalli scored a fifth goal. An own goal on the 78th made things worse for Dingli who conceded another three goals in the final ten minutes by Ryan Dalli on the 80th and 83rd and Giovanni Galea on the 81st.

Qormi joined Marsaskala in third place thanks to a 4-1 win over Ta’ Xbiex at the Sirens Stadium. Ricardo Silva Faria put Qormi ahead on the 31st and Kurt Desira doubled the score on the 62nd. Gary Bugeja made it 3-0 three minutes later. Stefi Cale converted a penalty for Ta’ Xbiex on the 71st but Gary Bugeja scored another on the 81st.

Gharghur came back from two goals down to beat San Gwann 3-2 at the Sirens Stadium. Andre Joe Cutajar put San Gwann ahead on the 34th and Matthias Fenech doubled the score five minutes in the second half. Mihaly Gidaly reduced the gap on the 73rd and five minutes later, Samuel Agius equalised. Jayden Aquilina notched the winner five minutes in added time.

Vittoriosa Stars registered a 4-1 win over Ghaxaq in another match at the Charles Abela Stadium. Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe handed Vittoriosa a two-goal lead as he scored on the 6th and 16th. Liam Gauci made it 3-0 on the 31st and although Aaron Agius reduced the gap with a penalty on the 34th, Ali Shaban Chikh made it 4-1 nine minutes from time.

Mgarr lead the way with 20 points, followed by Kirkop on 19, Qormi and Marsaskala 18, St. George’s 16, Gharghur 15, San Gwann 14, Vittoriosa 13, Dingli 7, Ghaxaq and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables