IZIBET Amateur League: Qormi join Mgarr on top

Qormi joined Mgarr United on top Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they defeated Kirkop United 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday. Mgarr, however, have a game in hand.

Melchior Grech put Kirkop ahead on the 12th minute but Ricardo Silva Faria equalised a minute later and Carlos Debattista notched the winner on the 20th.

Mgarr United were held in a 1-1 draw by St. George’s at the Sirens Stadium. Christian Saint Ebisindor put Mgarr ahead on the 55th but Rudy Cassar equalised on the 72nd.

San Gwann scored nine goals in the first half as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 11-0 at the Sirens Stadium. Andre Joe Cutajar opened the score on the 5th and Nezar Fawzi Abouhaisa scored twice in a minute – on the 7th and the 8th. Syzmon Grzegorz Plocica made it 4-0 on the 14th and Cutajar scored another two goals on the 27th and 33rd but by the end of the first half, Abouhaisa scored on the 37th and Plocica twice on the 42nd and 44th. In the second half, Andre Joe Cutajar scored his fourth on the 81st and Kemokoh Toure added another on the 83rd.

Vittoriosa Stars also registered a comfortable 7-0 win over Dingli Swallows at the Charles Abela Stadium. Liam Gauci scored twice on the 5th and 19th and Liam Ciantar made it 3-0 on the 27th. Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe increased the score six minutes in the second half and two own goals on the 60th and 74th complicated matters further for Dingli with Aaron Sammut scoring a seventh goal three minutes from time.

Mgarr and Qormi lead the way with 24 points, followed by Marsaskala on 21, San Gwann and St. George’s on 20, Vittoriosa and Kirkop 19, Gharghur 18, Dingli 7, Ghaxaq and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables