IZIBET Amateur League: Mgarr return to victory as leaders Qormi extend winning streak

Mgarr United returned to winning ways in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they defeated Ghaxaq 4-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Liam Portelli put Mgarr ahead on the half hour and Christian Ebisindor Saint doubled the score five minutes from the end of the first half. Christian Ebisindor Saint made it 3-0 on the 58th and although Jake Sciberras reduced the gap on the 62nd, Kyle Frendo restored the three-goal lead five minutes in added time.

Leaders Qormi maintained their positive streak with a 2-1 win over Vittoriosa Stars at the Charles Abela Stadium. Jayden Borg put Qormi ahead on the 42nd, Deemer Cutajar equalised on the 68th but Gary Bugeja made it 2-1 for Qormi on the 80th.

Kirkop United came back from three goals down to rescue a point in a 3-3 draw with San Gwann at the Charles Abela Stadium. Jesmar Briffa put San Gwann ahead on the 3rd minute and two minutes later, Nezar Fawzi Abouhaisa doubled the score. Abouhaisa made it 3-0 on the 15th. Michael Theuma reduced the gap seven minutes from the end of the first half. Matthew Borg scored a second goal on the 71st and Paolo Zammit equalised on the 92nd.

Gharghur defeated St. George’s 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Samuel Agius put Gharghur ahead on the 24th and although Adrian Caruana equalised two minutes from time, Isaac Chircop notched the winner six minutes in added time.

At the Sirens Stadium, Marsaskala came from behind to beat Dingli Swallows 3-2. Shamison Farrugia handed Dingli a two-goal lead thanks to goals on the 22nd and 25th but James Oghenekewaro reduced the gap just before half-time. Fabrizio Zammit equalised on the 69th and Adrian Bonavia notched the winner one minute in added time.

Qormi lead the way with 30 points, followed by Mgarr on 28, Marsaskala 27, San Gwann 24, Vittoriosa and Gharghur 22, Kirkop and St. George’s 20, Dingli 7, Ghaxaq and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables