IZIBET Amateur League: San Gwann earn precious points in win over Mgarr

San Gwann claimed three important points in the battle to avoid the relegation play-offs as they defeated Mgarr United 2-0 in a match from Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Adam Falzon put San Gwann ahead on the 10th and Denilson Borg doubled the score on the 78th.

Kirkop United defeated Ta’ Xbiex 10-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Ryan Dalli opened the score on the 3rd and two minutes later, Nestor Luis Silva made it 2-0. Dalli scored again on the 14th and 33rd and Giovanni Galea added another on the 36th. Dhonatan Santos da Hora increased the lead three minutes in the second half with Giovanni Galea adding another on the 65th. Dhonatan extended the lead on the 68th and although Nicky Vella scored a consolation goal for Ta’ Xbiex on the 71st, Jason Camilleri and Michael Theuma scored for Kirkop on the 74th and 76th.

Vittoriosa Stars came from behind to beat Gharghur 3-2 at the Sirens Stadium. Joseph Jojo Ogunnupe converted a penalty for Vittoriosa on the 11th but a brace by Mihaly Gidaly on the 21st and 30th put Gharghur ahead. However Shaban Chikh Ali equalised three minutes in the second half and an own goal on the 63rd handed Gharghur the three points.

On the other hand, goals by Jayden Zac Borg, Sheldon Seychell and Ricardo Silva Faria handed Qormi a 3-0 win over Ghaxaq at the Charles Abela Stadium.

St. George’s defeated Dingli Swallows 6-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Dylan Grima opened the score on the 5th and although Mohamed Kara equalised on the 20th, Neil Buttigieg scored twice on the 31st and 45th. Rudy Cassar extended the lead on the 48th with Timmy Thomas and Kurt Mifsud scoring on the 71st and 87th respectively.

Mgarr United lead the way with 43 points, followed by Marsaskala on 37, Qormi and Gharghur 34, San Gwann 32, St. George’s 31, Kirkop 29, Vittoriosa 28, Ghaxaq 13, Dingli 10 and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables