IZIBET Amateur League: Kurt Borg scores four as Mtarfa hit seven past Kalkara

Mtarfa ended their IZIBET Amateur League Group A commitments in style with a 7-0 win over Kalkara United in a game at the Centenary Stadium on Sunday which was abandoned on the hour as the latter ended the game in six men.

Kalkara started the match with nine players but by the end of the first half two players abandoned the pitch injured and on the hour, the Kalkara goalkeeper also abandoned the pitch injured, leaving referee Darko Stankovic no option other than to abandon the game.

Jeremy Busuttil had put Mtarfa ahead on the 6th and Bydasser Sammut scored twice on the 19th and 32nd. Kurt Borg scored on the 37th and 44th to give Mtarfa a five-goal lead by half-time, scoring another two goals on the 46th and 53rd.

At the Sirens Stadium, Rabat Ajax came from behind to beat Pembroke Athleta 2-1. Weverton Gomes converted a penalty on the half-hour but Yuya Emura equalised one minute from the end of the first half and Matthew Farrugia notched the winner on the 65th.

Mqabba beat Mdina Knights 3-1 at the Charles Abela Stadium. Dylan Zarb opened the scoring on the 16th and then converted a penalty on the 27th. Andres Tenorio Viveros made it 3-0 on the 59th but one minute from time, Jean Scholey pulled one back for Mdina.

Rabat and Mqabba finish joint-sixth and therefore a decider is necessary to determine who will take a spot in the Amateur League 1 and who will take part in the play-out against Vittoriosa Stars. Pembroke Athleta, on the other hand, will be facing St. George’s in the other play-out.

Mellieha came from behind to beat Qrendi 3-1 at the Luxol Stadium. Brandon Bray put Qrendi ahead on the 11th but Luka Mijic equalised on the 21st. Wayne Chetcuti made it 2-1 twelve minutes from time and an own goal deep into stoppage time sealed the issue for Mellieha.

Birzebbuga St. Peter’s beat Xghajra Tornados 2-1 in another match at the Charles Abela Stadium. A Samuel Saldanha penalty on the 27th put Birzebbuga ahead but Larson Mallia equalised a minute later. However Nathan Attard notched the winner for Birzebbuga on the 65th.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, Siggiewi and Santa Venera Lightnings shared the spoils in a 1-1 draw, goals by Matthias Vella for the Lightnings on the 32nd and Issac Kwesi Dankwah Ansanyi for Siggiewi two minutes later.

Mtarfa ended their commitments with 55 points, followed by Birzebbuga on 49, Qrendi 41, Mellieha and Xghajra 37, Rabat and Mqabba 34, Pembroke 30, Sta. Venera 25, Siggiewi 18, Kalkara 16 and Mdina 1.

Sta. Venera, Siggiewi, Kalkara and Mdina were relegated to Amateur League 2.

Meanwhile in Group B, San Gwann beat Gharghur 5-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Kurt Zammit scored on the 18th and 20th and although Jayden Aquilina pulled one back on the 34th, goals by Shawn Vella on the 52nd, Syzmon Grzegorz Plocica on the 83rd and Liam Micallef on the 88th handed Xavier Saliba’s side a comfortable win.

Mgarr ended their commitments on 46 point, followed by Qormi and Marsaskala on 37, San Gwann 35, Gharghur 34, Kirkop 32, St. George’s 31, Vittoriosa 29, Ghaxaq 14, Dingli 10 and Ta’ Xbiex 6.

St. George’s and Vittoriosa enter the play-outs while Ghaxaq, Dingli and Ta’ Xbiex were relegated to Amateur League 2.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables