Ten clubs granted UEFA licence

A UEFA club license has been granted to ten Maltese clubs, allowing them to take part in UEFA club competitions.

The club licensing system was first implemented in 2004 as a set of requirements that clubs have to meet to be eligible to compete in UEFA club competitions.

It is now part of several national associations’ strategic goals for club growth and better governance, as well as being integrated into how clubs run and a crucial factor in the important choices they undertake.

Over the past year, there have been some changes, and the Maltese clubs have complied with all regulations.

Nine of the 10 Maltese clubs that were granted a UEFA club license (in alphabetical order) are Balzan FC, Birkirkara FC, Floriana FC, Gżira United FC, Ħamrun Spartans FC, Hibernians FC, Marsaxlokk FC, Mosta FC, and Sliema Wanderers FC.

The other club is Birkirkara FC Women’s Team due to represent Malta in the UEFA Women’s Champions League in the upcoming season 2024/25.