Mosta, Pembroke share spoils in entertaining draw

Mosta and Pembroke Athleta shared the spoils in an entertaining 3-3 draw at the Victor Tedesco Stadium which saw the Blues take the lead, Pembroke turning the score in their favour and Mosta scoring twice late in the game to restore equilibrium.

With this draw, Pembroke will be starting the third round on thirteen points, two behind Mosta.

The Blues lacked Dyson Falzon while Leighton Grech was missing for Pembroke.

Mosta managed to take the lead on the 14th minutes thanks to Godwin Mensha who beat goalkeeper Mario Muscat with a shot from the right when served by James Brincat.

Pembroke managed to equalise on the 25th when they were awarded a penalty after a defender handled the ball inside the area and from the penalty spot, Gustavo Villalobos made no mistake.

Three minutes later, Pembroke forged ahead thanks to a cute lob by Kyle O’Brien from outside the area which gave goalkeeper Omar Borg no chance.

Pembroke increased the lead further on the 37th minute with a powerful drive by Ariel Laudisi which beat the Mosta custodian to make it 3-1.

Eight minutes from time, the Blues were back in contention as Jonas Rodriguez Ekani’s first-time effort, following a cross by James Brincat, beat substitute goalkeeper Matthew Farrugia.

James Brincat almost notched the equaliser one minute from time when he hit the upright with an attempt from outside the area. However a few seconds later, Mosta were awarded a penalty after a defender handled the ball inside the area; Godwin Mensha’s effort from the penalty spot was partially saved by substitute goalkeeper Matthew Farrugia but the Nigerian striker placed the ball at the back of the net off the rebound.

MOSTA Omar Borg, James Brincat, Tyrone Farrugia, Kyle Frendo (46′ Adrian Borg), Lyden Micallef (46′ Sibi Gwar), Osa Guobadia, Leonard Njousso, Fatai Alabi, Jonas Ekani Rodriguez, Onyekachi Okonkwo, Godwin Mensha.
Subs not used: Yenz Cini, Dexter Xuereb, Zachary Brincat, Kurt Camilleri, Aaron Sammut.
Coach: Anton Cremona

PEMBROKE Mario Muscat (69′ Matthew Farrugia), Zoran Levnaic, Alex Cini, Miguel Attard, Owen Bugeja, Paltemio Barbetti, Manolito Micallef, Kyle O’Brien, Siraj Arab Eddin (76′ Gustavo de Paulo da Nobrega), Ariel Laudisi, Gustavo Villalobos (90+2′ Obinna Obiefule).
Subs not used: Rennie Tanti, Tyron Fenech, Terence Agius, Geoffrey Spiteri.
Coach: Winston Muscat

Referee: Alan Mario Sant
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Thomas Debono
Fourth Official: Sandro Spiteri
Yellow Cards: O’Brien, Okonkwo
Scorers: 14′ Godwin Mensha, 26′ Gustavo Villalobos, 28′ Kyle O’Brien, 37′ Ariel Laudisi
BOV Player of the Match: Ariel Laudisi

St. Andrews registered a third consecutive positive result as they held Tarxien Rainbows in a 1-1 draw at the Hibernians Stadium.

The Rainbows will therefore start the third round on 19 points while the Saints will start on three points.

Tarxien lacked the suspended Ebiabowei Baker while St. Andrews were in full strength.

Following a goalless first half, Triston Caruana was unlucky not to put the Rainbows ahead five minutes in the second half as his back-header off a corner by Joao Pedro Oliveira Santos ht the upright.

Seven minutes later, Tarxien were not to be denied as Pedrinho sent Luke Montebello through and the latter hit low past goalkeeper Jake Galea.

St. Andrews levelled matters on 62 minutes when off a cross shot by Salomon Wisdom, the Tarxien defence failed to clear the ball into safety and in came Kyrian Nwoko who slid the ball past goalkeeper Andrea Cassar.

ST. ANDREWS Jake Galea, Emmy Manuel Pena Beltre, Dale Camilleri, Bong Won Che, Jonatan Perez Cuesta (90+4’ Ryan Sammut), Lucky Victor Oseghale (85’ Liam Grech), Matteo Desira Buttigieg(32’ Kyrian Nwoko), Michel Wisdom Salomon, Joseph Farrugia, Chinatu Francis Onwudinjo, Michael Johnson.
Subs not used: Dorian Bugeja, Jacob Walker, Clyde Cumbo, Sorin Oproiescu.
Coach: Jose Borg

TARXIEN Andrea Cassar, Bruno Giglio de Oliveira, Timothy Tabone Desira (26’ Brandon Muscat), Triston Caruana, Ayrton Azzopardi, Carlos Hevia Menendez (66’ Claudio Daniel Frances), Luke Montebello, Sergio Fernandez Prendes (79’ Alex Nilsson), Alex da Paixao Alves, Matthew Tabone, Joao Pedro Oliveiro Santos.
Subs not used: Sean Mintoff, Roderick Bajada, Daniel Zerafa, John Mintoff.
Coach: Jacques Scerri

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: William Debattista, David Castillo
Additional Assistant Referees: Marco Borg, Ishmael Barbara
Fourth Official: Peter Abela
Yellow cards: Won Che, Oliveira, Wisdom, Tabone, Montebello
Scorers: 57’ Luke Montebello, 62’ Kyrian Nwoko
BOV Player of the Match: Lucky Victor Oseghale