Andrew Cohen voted Best Player in MFPA Awards 2018

Andrew Cohen of Gzira United won the MFPA Best Player Award at the MFPA Awards 2018 which were held at the Xara Lodge on Monday. He beat the challenge offered by Balzan duo Paul Fenech and Alex da Paixao Alves.

The MFPA Awards came at the heel of an exciting and highly competitive football season  which saw teams fighting to prevail at both top and bottom tiers of the table, and across all divisions. In many ways, the voting results for the awards, mirrored this thrilling season. With over 300 votes disseminated, verified counted  and recounted, many honours went down to the wire with a number of winners edging past the runner up with just one or two votes.

The ceremony itself, took place at the Xara Lodge and  was attended by Hon Clifton Grima, Hon Ryan Callus, players, former players, sports administrators and members of the press. It managed to celebrate football, present and past, whilst emphasising the need to work harder and aim higher.

In his speech, MFPA General Secretary Carlo Mamo, outlined the issues of greatest concern, whilst  highlighting the fact that MFPA will never be an armchair critic, but actively seeks to be part of the solution. In view of this, he said, the Association has been and will continue to work on a number of projects to improve the level of football and the working conditions of its members.

A distinct guest on the night was Mr Roy Vermeer, winner of the MFPA Merit Award for his invaluable contribution towards player conditions in Malta. Mr Vermeer worked at FIFA and UEFA for a number of years and is currently Legal Director at FIFPro.

The Special Award was given to the Dream Team of Malta’s first generation of National Football Players. Legend’s of Football’s Past such as John Holland, Joe Cini, Louis Arpa and Willie Vassallo reminded football fans of Malta’s long love affair with football.

The Award for Best Young Player overall went to midfielder Jake Grech, Birkirkara’s brightest star, whilst the winner of the MFPA Best Player of the year went to Andrew Cohen.

The show will be broadcasted on TVM (4 May 2018 @ 20.30), ONE TV (5 May 2018 @ 20.40) and NET TV (8 May 2018 @ 20.45).

The following is the complete list of winners:

Best Futsal Player Award
Maicon Silva (Luxol Futsal)

Best Female Player Award
Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara)

Best First Division Player Award
Paul Chimezie (Mqabba)

Best Referee Award
Alan Mario Sant

Best Coach Award
Paul Zammit (Birkirkara)

MFPA Best Young Players Awards:
Best Young – Goal Keeper
Jake Galea – Hamrun Spartans

Best Young – Defender
Jean Borg – Valletta

Best Young – Midfielder
Jake Grech – Birkirkara

Best Young – Forward
Kyrian Nwoko – Valletta

Henry Bonello – Valletta

Right Back
Enmy Peña Beltre – Valletta

Left Back
Joseph Zerafa – Valletta

Centre Back
Steve Borg – Valletta
Enrico Pepe – Floriana

Mislav Andjelkovic – Birkirkara
Andrew Cohen – Gzira United
Paul Fenech – Balzan

Alex da Paixao Alves – Balzan
Bojan Kaljevic – Balzan
Amadou Samb – Gzira United

Special Award – Legends of the 60s and 70s
Alfred Mizzi – Hibernians FC

Anton Camilleri – Floriana FC
Edward Darmanin – Sliema Wanderers FC
Edwin Farrugia – Floriana FC
John Holland – Floriana FC

Louis Arpa – Floriana FC
Eddie Theobald – Hibernians FC +
Willie Vassallo – Floriana

Joe Cini – Floriana FC/Sliema Wanderers FC
Ronnie Cocks – Sliema Wanderers FC +
Raymond Xuereb – Floriana

Merit Award
Roy Vermeer

Best Young Player
Jake Grech

Best Player
Andrew Cohen