Thirteen Premier League players suspended

Thirteen Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend matches.

Sacha Borg and Roderick Briffa (Gzira), Akeem Roach and Dexter Xuereb (Mosta), Orestis Nikolopoulos (Hamrun), Leighton Grech (Senglea), Justin Grioli and Uros Ljubomirac (Balzan), Jurgen Pisani and Mohammed Saleh (Floriana), Amoy Brown, Ricardo Martin and Kevyn Mcfarlane (St. Andrews) were all banned for one match.

The Saints will therefore be without Brown, Martin and Mcfarlane for the clash with Gzira. The Maroons will lack Borg and Briffa for the same match. Mosta will lack Roach and Xuereb for the clash with Qormi.

Hamrun could not count on Nikolopoulos for the big match against Valletta while Grioli and Ljubomirac will be unavailable for the match against Hibernians. Floriana will be without Pisani and Saleh for the match against Tarxien. On the other hand, Senglea will be lacking Leighton Grech for the game against Birkirkara.

St. Andrews physiotherapist Karl Rizzo Naudi was banned for two matches.

In Division 1, Melvin Busuttil (Marsa) and Mark Anthony Borg (Pembroke) were handed a three-match ban. Lesley Cassar Jackson (Swieqi) and Adrian Carabott (Zejtun) were banned for one match.

Pembroke kit manager Godwin Gatt was suspended for two matches.

In Division 2, Matthew Schembri (Kalkara), Jean Scholey (Mellieha) and Daniel Debono (Marsaxlokk) were handed a one-match ban.

Jurgen Gauci (Attard), Etienne Farrugia (Dingli), Gabriel Farrugia (Mtarfa), Fabio Luca Muscat (Msida), Glenn Brincat and Lark Pino Falzon (Xghajra) were suspended for one match.