Malta drawn with Belgium, Sweden and Armenia in Futsal World Cup qualifyiers

The draws for the first two rounds of 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup qualifying have been made, involving 48 of the record European entry of 49, aiming for six places alongside hosts Lithuania in the 24-team finals.

Malta was drawn with Belgium, Sweden and Armenia in Group E of the Preliminary Round which will be played between the 29th January and 3rd February in Sweden. The top two teams in the group proceed to the Main Round.

The group winners would join Serbia, France and the runners-up of Group F in Group 6 while the runners-up would join Russia, Croatia and the winners of Group F in Group 7.

Germany, Kosovo and Scotland are taking part in the World Cup qualifiers for the first time while Northern Ireland will be making their debut in the international scene.

Photo: Copyright © UEFA

Preliminary round draw (29 January–3 February 2019)
Group A: Latvia*, England, Cyprus, Gibraltar
Group B: Belarus*, Norway, Kosovo, Andorra
Group C: FYR Macedonia*, Albania, Greece, San Marino
Group D: Georgia*, Denmark, Germany, Israel
Group E: Belgium, Sweden*, Armenia, Malta
Group F: Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Turkey, Switzerland, Scotland
Group G: Netherlands, Montenegro, Bulgaria*, Estonia
Group H: Finland, Moldova*, Wales, Northern Ireland


Main round draw (22–27 October 2019)
Group 1: Spain, Poland*, Preliminary round Group D winners, Preliminary round Group H runners-up
Group 2: Ukraine*, Slovenia, Preliminary round Group C winners, Preliminary round Group B runners-up
Group 3: Azerbaijan*, Slovakia, Preliminary round Group H winners, Preliminary round Group G runners-up
Group 4: Italy*, Hungary, Preliminary round Group B winners, Preliminary round Group A runners-up
Group 5: Kazakhstan, Romania*, Preliminary round Group G winners, Preliminary round Group C runners-up
Group 6: Serbia, France*, Preliminary round Group E winners, Preliminary round Group F runners-up
Group 7: Russia, Croatia*, Preliminary round Group F winners, Preliminary round Group E runners-up
Group 8: Portugal*, Czech Republic, Preliminary round Group A winners, Preliminary round Group D runners-up


The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round.