MFA releases first set of fixtures

The Malta Football Association released the first set of fixtures for season 2019/20.

Unlike previous years, fixtures are not being released for the whole season. The Malta FA Competitions Department will be issuing a complete set of fixtures, including venue and kick-off time, every two months for each competition.

Competitions will kick off on Friday 23rd August, 2019 with the opening matches from the 2019-20 BOV Premier League. The second round starts on 10th January, 2020 and concludes on 25th April, 2020. 

In the BOV Premier League, the first matches will be played on Friday August 23 as Sirens take on Senglea Athletic and Valletta face Santa Lucia at the Centenary Stadium while Gzira United meet Hamrun Spartans and Birkirkara face Floriana at the National Stadium. On Saturday 24, Gudja United take on Hibernians at the Centenary Stadium while Tarxien Rainbows vs Mosta and Balzan vs Sliema Wanderers will be played at the National Stadium.

The BOV First and Second Division Leagues will commence on Friday 13th September and Thursday 12th September, 2019 respectively while the BOV Third Division championship gets under way on Saturday 21st September, 2019. 

In between, other domestic league and knock-out matches will be played in both men’s and women’s competitions, with the FA Trophy starting in September with the preliminary round fixtures and continuing throughout the season with the subsequent rounds. 

The FA Trophy final is scheduled to take place on Saturday, 9th May, 2020. 

The Super Cup match between champions Valletta and FA Trophy holders Balzan will be played on Thursday, 12th December, 2019 at the National Stadium.

View the respective fixtures in the section Results & Fixtures