Nine clubs to play in GFA First Division

Nine clubs will be taking part in the Gozo Football League First Division after Gharb Rangers opted to play in the Second Division.

Last month, the Council of the Malta Football Association voted in favour of a proposal that the sporting outcome for the Gozo FA Leagues 2019/20 would be as agreed by the GFA and the large majority Gozitan clubs who were proposing that the leaders in the two divisions, Nadur Youngsters and Sannat Lions would be declared champions; no teams would be relegated from the First Division and that two teams will be promoted from the Second Division.

This would have led to a situation where ten teams would have taken part in the Gozo Football League First Division and the remaining four in the Gozo Football League Second Division. However Gharb Rangers chose to play in the lower category although they were not relegated. 

As from the coming season, the teams in the top flight can have two foreign players in their line-up and at the end of the championship, two teams will be automatically relegated.

The teams in the First Division will be therefore Nadur Youngsters, Xewkija Tigers, Victoria Hotspurs, Ghajnsiselem, Kercem Ajax, Xaghra United, SK Victoria Wanderers and newly-promoted Sannat Lions and Oratory Youths.

The BOV Gozo Football League Second Division will be formed of five teams.  Each team can have one foreign player in their list of players for the matches and at the end of the season, the champion of the category will earn promotion.  There will be no play-offs.

Gharb Rangers join St. Lawrence Spurs, Zebbug Rovers, Munxar Falcons and Qala Saints in the Gozo Football League Second Division