Hibs, Qormi share spoils in goalless draw

Hibernians and Qormi failed to climb out of the lower part of the table when they shared the spoils in a goalless draw at the Hibs Stadium on Sunday. A draw which satisfied neither side as both were aiming to return to victory after suffering defeats in their last outing.

Qormi join Sliema in seventh place on eight points while the Paolites, who have now gone six matches without a win, are second from bottom on six.

Hibs had three changes from the team which lost to Vittoriosa as the returning Adrian Pulis and Zoran Levnaic together with Aaron Xuereb replaced Jean Paul Farrugia, Edward Herrera and Andrew Cohen. The latter two started the game on the bench.

Qormi, on the other hand, welcomed back Stefan Giglio who was included in the starting line-up together with Korean midfielder Kang Hojung.

After a most quiet start for the two teams, the Paolites had the first attempt at goal with Paul McManus having a shot from inside the area deflected into a corner on 33 minutes.

Early in the second half, Kosta Bjedov tried his luck with a shot from the edge of the area which scraped past the post. On the 48th, Zoran Levnaic received an inviting cross from the left but his effort was blocked by a defender. A cross shot by Edward Herrera from the right was parried by Matthew Farrugia on the hour.

Qormi went close on 75 minutes with a long-distance shot by former Hibs midfielder Matthew Bartolo. Ten minutes later, Abubakar Bello-Osagie headed just wide off a Joseph Farrugia corner from the right

Jason Lee Vandelannoite was voted BOV Player of the Match.

HIBS Mario Muscat, Aaron Xuereb, Jonathan Pearson, Adrian Pulis, Matthew Clarke, Richie Hart (59’ Edward Herrera), Paul McManus, Triston Caruana (64’ Andrew Cohen), Matthew Gauci, Zoran Levnaic (90’ Bjorn Kristensen), Matthew Tabone.
Subs not used: Daniel Balzan, Warren Chircop, Steve Pisani, Ayrton Azzopardi.
Coach: Mark Miller
Assistant Coach: Edmond Lufi

QORMI Matthew Farrugia, Jason Vandelanoitte, Stefan Giglio, Roderick Sammut, Matthew Bartolo, Kosta Bjedov (82’ Joseph Chetcuti), Joseph Farrugia, Abubakar Bello-Osagie, Jonathan Bondin, Cleavon Frendo, Kang Hojung (67’ George Mallia)(78’ Keith Fenech).
Subs not used: Matthew Camilleri, Michael Borg Olivier, Vinicius Da Silva, Ben Camilleri.
Coach: Stephen Azzopardi
Assistant Coach: Charles Scerri

Referee: Clayton Pisani
Assistant Referees: Alan Camilleri, Christopher Francalanza
Fourth Official: Fyodor Zammit
Yellow Cards: M. Tabone, R. Hart, Z. Levnaic