Malta to host UEFA Women's EURO 2013 preliminary round mini-tournament

Malta will once again be the venue for another UEFA mini-tournament, this time for the UEFA Women’s EURO 2013 preliminary round between the 3rd and 8th of March 2011. In the draw which was held in Nyon on Friday, eight teams were divided into two groups – which will be hosted in Malta and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

In Group 2, Malta will host the Faroe Islands, Georgia and Armenia whilst FYR Macedonia welcomes Luxembourg, Lithuania, and Latvia.

The two group winners progress to join the 36 entrants with the highest coefficients in the main qualifying round draw on the 14th of March.

That stage, with four groups of five teams and three of six, will run from September 2011 to September 2012. The group winners and best runners-up will join hosts Sweden in the finals from the 10th to the 28th of July 2013 along with the winners in three two-legged play-offs held between the other second-placed teams in October 2012.