Birkirkara win Women’s Knock-Out

Birkirkara won the Women’s Knock-Out competition after defeating Gozo FC 3-0 in the final which was held on Sunday at the Luxol Stadium. This was the tenth success for the Stripes, who had won the Super Cup earlier this season, after winning the Knock-Out on a most regular basis since 1999, only missing out in 2001, 2004 and 2006. Therefore this was also the fifth successive Knock-Out win for the Stripes.

Birkirkara were clearly a better side right from the start and went close after just two minutes with Stephanie Farrugia hitting wide from close range following an inviting freekick by Rachel Cuschieri. However they managed to take the lead on 13 minutes when Kimberly Parnis gained possession and served Kelly Agius Pace who advanced upfield before hitting past the Gozitan goalkeeper.

Three minutes from the end of the first half, the Stripes doubled the score when a Kimberly Parnis was not held by Vella and Kelly Agius Pace placed the ball at the back of the net.

Birkirkara sealed the issue with a third goal on 58 minutes when Kimberly Parnis concluded a solo effort by entering the penalty area and beating Fabiane Vella with a powerful shot.

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=243]

GOZO Fabiane Vella (85′ Alison Vella), Ann Marie Said, Felicienne Mercieca, Melania Bajada, Michelle Zuber, Joselene Gafa, Tracy Theuma (85′ Jolene Debattista), Mody Ann Refalo (46′ Stephanie Debono), Julia Vella (71′ Silvana Xuereb), Rita Azzopardi, Karen Attard (70′ Jessica Scerri).
B’KARA Janice Xuereb (72′ Nina Dimech), Isabelle Mazzitelli (78′ Alexia Scicluna), Rosanne Xerri (62′ Rose Cardona), Yasmin Vella, Stephania Farrugia, Chantal Fenech, Kimberly Parnis, Gabriella Zahra, Rachel Cuschieri (65′ Rebecca Bonnici), Ruth Steer Chatham (46′ Lynn Fenech), Kelly Agius Pace.
Referee: Roderick Sciberras