Malta women's national team hosts World Cup qualifying mini-tournament

2015-Women-World-CupMalta will be hosting the Group A mini-tournament from the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup between Thursday 4th and Tuesday 9th April. Taking part will be Albania, Latvia and Luxembourg apart from Malta.

The quadrangular tournament is expected to be an interesting one, with all the four teams offering a challenge to proceed further in the competition. The top two teams in the group, together with the top two teams in another Preliminary Round group – featuring Montenegro, Faroe Islands, Georgia and hosts Lithuania – will progress to the qualifying group stage, joining the 38 top-ranked nations.

In the first match on Thursday at the Centenary Stadium, kick-off at 16:00, Malta take on Albania who will be playing their first ever women’s games in Malta.

Malta, buoyed by their recent satisfactory performances and results, will be looking towards a successful stint in their bid to underpin the progress they made. A handsome crowd is expected at the Centenary Stadium to provide our team with enthusiastic backing. That could make the difference as Pierre Brincat’s troups are set to uphold their country’s prestige after their commendable build-up for this important international engagement.

Entrance will be free.

Thursday 4th April (Centenary Stadium)
16:00 Albania vs Malta
18:30 Luxembourg vs Latvia

Saturday 6th April (Centenary Stadium)
11:00 Albania vs Latvia
13:30 Malta vs Luxembourg

Tuesday 9th April (Venues and kick-off times to be determined by UEFA delegate after match day 2)
Luxembourg vs Albania
Latvia vs Malta

The provisional squad at the disposal of coach Pierre Brincat is made up of:
goalkeepers Keoney Demicoli (Hibs), Sharon Costantino (Mosta), Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara), Dorianne Grech (Tarxien);
defenders Kelly Agius Pace, Stephania Farrugia and Gabriella Zahra (Birkirkara), Annmarie Said (Gozo), Charlene Zammit (Hibs), Rebecca Chircop and Rebecca D’Agostino (Mosta), Kirsty Feasey (Reading), Michelle Zuber (Gozo);
midfielders Rachael Cuschieri (Birkirkara), Ylenia Carabott (Hibs), Oriana Bedingfield, Nicole Buttigieg, Natasha Pace, Dorianne Theuma and Emma Xuereb (Mosta), Amber Grech (Pembroke), Brenda Borg and Antoinette Sammut (Mgarr);
forwards Tracy Teuma (Gozo) and Jade Flask (Mosta).