Women’s national team drawn with Georgia, Andorra and Faroe Islands

The Malta women’s national team was drawn with Georgia, Andorra and the Faroe Islands in Group B of the UEFA Women’s EURO 2017 – the draws for which were held in Nyon on Monday.

Malta will be hosting the mini-tournament which will be played between the 4th and 9th April. Moldova, Luxembourg, Lithuania and Latvia were drawn in Group A.

In a similar mini-tournament two years ago, Malta secured a place in the qualifying round of the FIFA Women’s World Cup after winning a group which included Albania, Latvia and Luxembourg.

Andorra will be taking part in the competition for the first time. In a friendly match against Luxembourg last July, Andorra lost 0-4 in Gibraltar. Georgia did not play any international matches since the FIFA Women’s World Cup Preliminary Round mini-tournament in April 2013 when they defeated Lithuania 4-3 but lost 0-2 to Montenegro and 1-2 to the Faroe Islands.

The Faroe Islands had won a qualifying mini-tournament two years ago to reach the qualifying round proper, collecting two points in two draws at home against Bosnia-Herzegovina and Northern Ireland.