Pietà Hotspurs win Under-14 Tony Bajada Memorial Challenge Cup

Athlone ADSL from Ireland were this year’s special guests in the Tony Bajada Memorial as they took part in this year’s edition with two teams in the Under-14 category. This was the fourteenth edition of the Tony Bajada Memorial, as always organised by the Hamrun Nursery and held at the Victor Tedesco Stadium.

Overall, thirty-three teams from eleven different football nurseries participated in this year’s edition. It is estimated that more than 300 boys and girls took part in the Memorial, which is considered as a major youth football event for the best nurseries on the island.

In the Under-14 final, Pietà beat Valletta 2-0 to claim the Tony Bajada Memorial Challenge Cup. The trophy was presented to the Pietà captain by Hamrun Mayor Mr Vince Bonello, in the presence of Ms Violet Bajada, widow of the Hamrun Nursery founder Tony Bajada.

San Gwann won the Under-14 Fair Play Award whereas Pietà Hotspurs won the Under-14 Top Scoring Team Award. Hamrun Spartans won the Under-12 Fair Play Award and Zebbug won the overall Fair Play Award for the minor categories (Under-10, Under-8 and Under-6). No winners were declared in the Under-12, Under-10, Under-8 and Under-6 categories in accordance with Youth FA guidelines. Mementos were instead presented to all participants.

The Tony Bajada Memorial was organised in collaboration with the Hamrun Local Council and sponsored by Liquigas and Gatorade.

More information about the Tony Bajada Memorial may be obtained on the tournament website www.tonybajadamemorial.com