San Gwann win Under-17 Section A but St. Andrews claim Knock-Out

San Gwann won Section A of the Under-17 League organised by the Youth Football Association but St. Andrews emerged as winners in the Knock-Out after defeating them 3-1 in the final at the Luxol Stadium on Sunday.

Lee Attard put the Saints ahead on the 61st minute and a Mattia Veselji penalty gave them a two-goal lead on the 68th. Adam Falzon pulled one back on the 74th for San Gwann but Veselji converted another penalty deep into stoppage time to seal the issue.

The Saints had placed fourth in Section A, five points behind San Gwann after the latter had defeated them 2-0 in the final match.

San Gwann therefore won the section, three points ahead of Valletta and Birkirkara. Hamrun finished fifth, followed by Floriana, Paola Hibs and Mosta.

Pietà Hotspurs won Section B, eight points clear of runners-up Melita. Sliema Wanderers finished third, followed by Pembroke Athleta, Balzan and Tarxien Rainbows with Luqa St. Andrew’s and Zabbar St. Patrick finishing in the bottom two places.

In Setion C, Zebbug Rangers emerged as winners, ahead of Qormi. Swieqi United placed third, followed by Kirkop United, Rabat Ajax, Zejtun Corinthians, Fgura United and Birzebbuga Windmill.

Msida St. Joseph won Section D, ten points clear of runners-up Mellieha. Sirens placed third, followed by Attard, Mqabba, Lija/Iklin, Mgarr United and Gzira United.

On the other hand, Naxxar Lions won Section E, seven points ahead of runners-up Sta. Venera United. Xghajra Tornados placed third, followed by Marsaskala, Ghaxaq and Mtarfa.