Another four teams make it to National Amateur Cup round of 16

Another four teams reached the Round of 16 of the National Amateur Cup 2021/22 after emerging as winners in the four matches from the Preliminary Round on Sunday.

At the Sirens Stadium, a brace by Fabrizio Zammit paved the way for a 3-0 win for Marsaskala over Xaghra United. Zammit scored on the 21st and 73rd with Adrian Bonavia adding another three minutes from time.

At the Kercem Arkafort Stadium, Zabbar St. Patrick found no difficulty in beating St. Lawrence Spurs 5-0. Isaac Abela put Zabbar ahead on the 11th minute and Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza doubled the score on teh 33rd. Captain Terence Agius scored twice on the 69th and 80th with Gabriel Bonavia adding another five minutes from time.

An own goal paved the way for Birzebbuga St. Peter’s in a 3-0 win over Mdina Knights. Following a goalless first half, the Saints took the lead thanks to an own goal on the 63rd. Ten minutes from time, Kurt Drakard doubled the score and four minutes later, Sam Kind sealed the issue with a third goal.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, a brace by Nicholas Schembri handed Attard a 2-0 win over Kirkop United. Schembri scored three minutes from the end of the first half and doubled the score thanks to a penalty one minute from time.

The matches for the round of 16 are as follows: Zabbar St. Patrick vs Mtarfa, Ghaxaq vs Zurrieq, Marsaskala vs Birzebbuga St. Peter’s, Kalkara United vs Attard, Ta’ Xbiex vs Gharghur, Msida St. Joseph vs Xghajra Tornados, Mellieha vs Dingli Swallows and Sta. Venera Lightnings vs Gharb Rangers.