Nine clubs granted a UEFA licence

Nine Maltese clubs have been awarded a UEFA club licence which enables them to participate in a UEFA club competition.

The club licensing system began in 2004, and it started as a set of criteria to be fulfilled in order for clubs to be eligible to participate in a UEFA club competition.  However a lot has changed since then and it has been included in a number of national association’s strategic plans for club development and improved governance, as well as it being embedded into how clubs operate and a fundamental consideration in the key decisions they take.

Eight of the nine Maltese clubs that were granted a UEFA club licence are: Balzan FC, Birkirkara FC, Floriana FC, Gzira United FC, Hamrun Spartans FC, Hibernians FC, Santa Lucia FC and Valletta FC.  The other club is Birkirkara FC Women’s Team.