Sliema Wanderers through to IZIBET FA Trophy final after extra-time

Sliema Wanderers will be facing Floriana in the final of the IZIBET FA Trophy after defeating holders Birkirkara 1-0 after extra-time in the second semi-final at the National Stadium on Wednesday.

The two teams shared the exchanges diring the first half but the Stripes held the upper hand during the second half. However with no goals being scored, the game went into extra-time with the Wanderers emerging as winners thanks to a late penalty. 

Sliema, who had defeated Marsaskala 3-0, Balzan 1-0 after extra-time and Mosta on penalties in the previous rounds, therefore join Floriana in the final where both teams will be seeking the 22nd success in the FA Trophy.

With both Floriana and Sliema Wanderers already qualified for European football, the third spot in the UEFA Conference League will now be taken by Marsaxlokk who placed fourth in the BOV Premier League.

During the first half, Samuel Gomes tested goalkeeper Marcel Zapytowski with a freekick from the left. In the second half, off a cross by Edward Sarpong from the left, Enmy Pena Beltre headed the ball in the direction of Simon Zibo whose conclusion was deflected over the bar.  Vito Plut hit high from close range off a cross by Geoffrey Acheampong for Sliema but the Stripes went close with two solo runs by Maxuell Maia and Paul Mbong who were both blocked by Rashid Al Tumi.

The match went into extra-time and following a quiet first half of extra-time, Sliema appealed for a penalty after Simon Zibo appeared to pull Neil Frendo down inside the area.

However with four minutes to go, an erratic pass by goalkeeper Zapytowski led the goalkeeper to tackle Kondrakov and Coppola to push Mohamed Awad inside the area. Referree Ishmael Barbara ordered a penalty and Joseph Minala converted. 

Three minutes in added time, Edmond Agius was sent off for Sliema following a dangerous tackle on Nicholas James Agius.

>> IZIBET FA Trophy Fixtures & Results