New format for BOV Women's League

Hibernians-Womens-Champions2014The BOV Women’s National League will be played in one division over two phases as from this season. The decision was confirmed during a meeting of the Council of the Malta Football Association on Wednesday.

Twelve teams will be participating in the league. In the first phase all teams will be facing each other on a single-round basis. In the second phase, the top six teams will play in the Championship Pool while the remaining six teams will play in Section B. Both sections will be played on a two-round basis.

Fgura-BOV-Women-Second-Champions2014Fgura United, BOV Women’s Second Division champions last season, withdrew their participation from this year’s competition.

The draws for the BOV Women’s League will be held on Thursday at the MFA Headquarters.

The League is expected to kick-off in October with the Women’s Super Cup being played on September 30.