Steve Borg voted Best Player in MFPA Awards 2019

[ngg src=”galleries” ids=”74″ display=”basic_imagebrowser”]

Valletta and Malta international defender Steve Borg won the Best Player Award in the MFPA Awards 2019 which was held at The Xara Lodge on Monday.

This event has become a staple in every football players calendar. Year in year out the anticipation grows and players cannot wait to see who will be taking home a coveted MFPA Award.

Borg placed first ahead of Hibernians defender Andrei Agius and Valletta midfielder Miguel Angel Alba.

Meanwhile, the best young player award went to Hibernians forward Joseph Mbong, first-time nominee and winner of two awards on the night.

The special award went to players who have served the Maltese National team for 100 games or more. Michael Mifsud, David Carabott, Gilbert Agius, Carmel Busuttil, Roderick Briffa and Joe Brincat were given special recognition for this achievement.

President Emeritus George Abela was given the MFPA Merit award as recognition for the work done during his presidency at the helm of MFA and the positive effect such measures still have.

MFPA General Secretary Carlo Mamo in his speech gave a brief overview of the work carried out in fulfilment of the position paper which will be expiring at the end of the current season. Mamo also gave an update on the main points featuring in the upcoming position paper which is currently undergoing a consultation process.

The winners were:

Best Futsal Player Celino Alves – Luxol Futsal

Best Female Player Stephania Farrugia – Birkirkara

Best First Division Player Ige Adeshina – Sirens

Best Referee Trustin Farrugia Cann

Best Coach Giovanni Tedesco – Hamrun Spartans

Best Young Goalkeeper Jake Galea – Sliema Wanderers

Best Young Defender Juan Carlos Corbalan – Gzira United

Best Young Midfielder Jake Grech – Hibernians

Best Young Forward Joseph Essien Mbong – Hibernians

Best Young Player Joseph Essien Mbong – Hibernians

MFPA Best XI Goalkeeper Kristijan Naumovski – Birkirkara FC

MFPA Best XI Left Back Arthur Oyama – Floriana

MFPA Best XI Right Back Juan Carlos Corbalan – Gzira United

MFPA Best XI Central Defenders Andrei Agius – Hibernians and Steve Borg – Valletta

MFPA Best XI Midfielders Miguel Angel Alba – Valletta, Mislav Andjelkovic – Birkirkara and Santiago Malano – Valletta

MFPA Best XI Forwards Mario Fontanella – Valletta, Haruna Garba – Gzira United and Younes Marzouk – Sliema Wanderers

Special Award Michael Mifsud, David Carabott, Gilbert Agius, Carmel Busuttil, Joe Brincat and Roderick Briffa – players with 100 or more national team caps

Merit Award Dr George Abela

Best Player Steve Borg