Noel Turner names 20-strong squad for UEFA Under-17 tournament

Malta Under-17 coach Noel Turner has named a squad of 20 players for the upcoming 2019-20 UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying tournament.

Austria, Bulgaria and Norway, who are hosting this UEFA tournament, are Malta’s opponents in Group 13 with the matches scheduled to take place between this Thursday and the following Wednesday – October 23. 

The Maltese youngsters open their commitments against Austria on Thursday at the Briskeby Arena. After meeing Norway in the second group match on Sunday at the Raufoss Stadium, the Malta Under-17s conclude their commitments against Bulgaria the following Wednesday at the same venue.

Turner, who is assisted by Mark Marlow, has selected most of the players who formed part of the Malta Under-16 squad for the UEFA Youth Under-16 Development Tournament but also included some new faces. Pietà Hotspurs midfielder Kurt Briffa and San Ġwann defender James Vella are sidelined with injuries.

In the UEFA Youth Under-16 Development Tournament, held at the Centenary Stadium last March, Malta beat Albania 2-0 but lost against Denmark (0-4) and Scotland (0-1).

In preparation for their UEFA U-17 Championship qualifying tournament, the Malta Under-17 team took part in the annual Trofeo Nereo Rocco tournament in August. They played against Austrian team FC Karnten (0-1), Napoli (1-2) and Pordenone Calcio (2-0).

The Malta Under-17 contingent is due to depart for Norway on Tuesday.


Beppe Mangion (St Mirren, Scotland); Miguel Spiteri (Barnsley FC, England); 

Sebastian Cassar Torregiani (St Andrews); Isaac Cutajar (Pietà Hotspurs); Zean Leonardi (Pietà Hotspurs); Nikolai Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans); Russell Micallef Decesare (St Andrews); Owen Sammut (Mosta); Luca Zammit (St Andrews).

Nathan Agius (Mosta); Azriel Borg (Mosta); Brooklyn Borg (Pietà Hotspurs); Zachary Chetcuti (Valletta); Matteo Gambin (Żabbar St Patrick); Jake Grech (San Ġwann); Brite Anayochi Ihoumah (Hibernians).

Isaiah Micallef (Valletta); Antheos Spiteri (Valletta); Nathan Sultana (San Ġwann); Andrea Zammit (San Ġwann).