Norman Darmanin Demajo elected Youth FA President

Norman Darmanin Demajo was elected as the new President of the Youth Football Association following the association’s Annual General Meeting which was held virtually on Friday.

In his speech, outgoing president Fr Hilary Tagliaferro confirmed that this was his last one in the role of Youth FA President. He said that notwithstanding the difficulties encountered throughout the past two seasons due to the pandemic, the Youth FA kept going and always adapting to the circumstances and likewise the nurseries. Fr Hilary thanked all those who at one point or other were involved in the running of the Youth FA and nurseries. He encouraged the delegates to continue working and collaborating with the new leadership. He augured the newly elected, non-contested President, Norman Darmanin Demajo, also claiming he was happy to see him continue a project that he had started. Fr Hilary declared that YFA will remain in his heart and he will remain available for any assistance needed. 

Meanwhile Joe Cassar was elected to the post Vice-President uncontested.

The delegates elected five representatives on behalf of the nurseries, being: 

  • Joe Baldacchino (Żabbar St Patrick) 
  • Jason Falzon (St Andrews)
  • Nathan Mckay (Dingli Swallows)
  • Simon Spiteri (Mtarfa) 
  • Paul Vella (Mġarr) 

The rest of the Youth FA Board will be announced in the coming days. 

In his closing remarks, the new President Norman Darmanin Demajo claimed that while he feels happy to fill Fr Hilary’s post, he is highly motivated to strengthen all that Fr Hilary started 39 years ago.  He expressed his plan to make the Youth FA more accessible and confirmed that for the first time ever, the Youth FA will engage a full-time employee in the post of a CEO which will be occupied by Joe Cassar.  He said that it was one step towards more reaching out to nurseries. He concluded that in the coming days the Youth FA will convene to confirm the rest of the posts whilst rolling up the sleeves to draft a work plan for the upcoming four seasons.