Dr Maria Azzopardi, Dr Matthew Paris and Adrian Casha elected Malta FA Vice-Presidents

Dr Maria Azzopardi, Dr Matthew Paris and Adrian Casha were elected to the posts of Vice-Presidents of the Malta Football Association for the period 2024-2028 during the first Malta FA General Assembly for 2024 which was held at the Grand Hotel Excelsior, Floriana on Friday Vice-Presidents.

This is the first time that there is a female Vice-President following a change in the statute of the association which provided for a female Vice-President as one the three Vice-Presidents.

In the election for the post of a female Vice-President, Dr Maria Azzopardi obtained 34 votes, while Christabelle Chetcuti obtained 22 votes and Dana Farrugia 13.

Christabelle Chetcuti and Dana Farrugia were both eligible to stand for the election of the other two Vice-Presidents but Farrugia withdrew her nomination.

Gozo FA president Dr Samuel Azzopardi obtained 15 votes, Adrian Casha 19 votes, Christabelle Chetcuti 12 votes, Lija Athletic president Dr Peter Fenech 19 votes, Marsaskala FC president Pierre Miceli 5 votes and Dr Matthew Paris 59 votes.

Dr Matthew Paris was elected but another election was necessary to determine the other Vice-President since Adrian Casha and Dr Peter Fenech both obtained the same number of votes.

In the other election, sixty seven votes were cast but there was one invalid vote. Adrian Casha obtained 36 votes and Dr Peter Fenech 30.

Therefore Dr Matthew Paris and Adrian Casha retained their place. Senior Vice-President Ludovico Micallef, on the other hand, did not stand for re-election.