MFA Vice-Presidents re-confirmed

bonnett-vigoDr Chris Bonett, Alex Manfre and Ludovigo Micallef were re-elected as Vice-Presidents at the Malta Football Association’s Annual General Meeting which was held at the Grand Hotel Excelsior on Saturday.

Bonett obtained 119 votes, Micallef 93 votes and Manfre 74 votes. The other two candidates for the posts – Dr Angelo Chetcuti and Victor Cassar obtained 58 votes and 28 votes respectively.

MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo and Honorary Treasurer Ivan Mizzi were uncontested. However Darmanin Demajo asked for a vote of confidence and obtained 116 votes in favour and 18 votes against.

The officials are elected for a period of three years.

Photos: Copyright © domenic aquilina

Meanwhile ten of the Ordinary Members of the Executive Committee were already known as they were nominated by the respective standing committees or associations – Dr Ian Micallef (Gzira) and Paul Spiteri (Valletta) will be representing Premier League clubs, Joe Sammut (Pietà) and Lawrence Seychell (Vittoriosa) First Division clubs, Dr Angelo Chetcuti (Birzebbuga) and Raymond Micallef Second Division clubs, Silvio Galea (Mdina) and Paul Sammut (Santa Lucia) Third Division clubs, Dr Samuel Azzopardi the Gozo Football Association and Joe Micallef the Youth Football Association.

Elections were therefore necessary for two members to represent Member Clubs in General and two members to represent Member Associations.

Michael Cutajar (St. George’s) and Paul Falzon (St. Andrews) were elected to represent Member Clubs in General after obtaining 75 votes and 71 votes respectively with Joe Borg (Hamrun) obtaining 51 and Mauro Miceli (Swieqi) 40.

Mark Borg (Futsal Malta Association) and Frans Muscat (Inter Amateur Soccer Competition) were elected to represent Member Associations after obtaining 67 votes and 66 votes respectively. Lino Bartolo (District Football League) obtained 63 and Joseph B. Grech (Malta Beach Soccer Association) 30.

Ordinary Members of the Executive Committee are elected for one year.

Meanwhile two amendments to the Statute of the Malta Football Association were approved. The first one regarded the Referees’ Board which will now be called the Referees’ Committee and its composition and another regarded the Complaints Board.

Amendments to rules governing the Women’s League were also approved. In fact, six teams will be playing in the First Division and the remaining teams will play in the Second Division. Both competitions will be played on a four-round league basis with a play-off between the team finishing fifth in the First Division and the team finishing second in the Second Division.

On the other hand, the Women’s Under-17 League and the Women’s Under-17 Knock-Out will now replace the Under-16 competitions.

As from this season, female players who are at least fourteen years old on the date of the match are eligible to play in senior competitions.

[gallery_bank type=”images” format=”masonry” title=”true” desc=”false” responsive=”true” display=”all” sort_by=”pic_id” animation_effect=”bounce” album_title=”true” album_id=”2″]