Hibernians through to FA Trophy semi-finals after extra-time

Hibernians came from behind to beat Hamrun Spartans 2-1 after extra-time in another match from the FA Trophy quarter-finals at the National Stadium on Sunday.

An early goal had put Hamrun ahead but mid-way through the second half Hibernians levelled matters to force extra-time. Towards the end of the first half of extra-time, the Paolites notched the winner to book a place in the semi-finals.

The Spartans had a perfect start, taking the lead on the 5th minute thanks to a direct freekick by Valdo Alhinho Goncalves which gave goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona no chance as the ball ended in the top left corner.

Hibernians replied with a Ferdinando Apap header ending just wide. Ailton Soares had a close range effort blocked by Calleja Cremona and on the other side of the pitch, a corner by Izquier was neutralised by Bartolo and off another corner by the Spanish midfielder, Ferdinando Apap’s header scraped hit the upright.

The Paolites levelled matters on the 70th minute when Joseph Mbong served Jorge Santos Silva on the right and the latter lobbed the ball over Bartolo.

Matthew Calleja Cremona managed to block a fine effort by Ailton Soares.

Three minutes from time, Valdo Alhino was unlucky to hit the upright with a freekick from the left. 

With the result still draw, the game went into extra-time and two minutes in added time at the end of the first half of extra-time, Hibernians forged ahead when off a cross by Jake Grech from the left, Imanol Iriberri headed home past goalkeeper Manuel Bartolo.

After the final whistle, Bartolo was shown the red card by referee Philip Farrugia following an argument with a supporter.

HIBS Matthew Calleja Cremona, Ferdinando Apap, Marcio Leandro Barbosa da Silveira (59’ Dunstan Vella), Joseph Essien Mbong, Jake Grech, Bjorn Kristensen (67’ Simone Mancini), Edafe Christopher Uzeh (84’ Ayrton Attard), Gabriel Izquier Artiges, Andrei Agius, Jorge Santos Silva (106’ Timothy Tabone Desira), Imanol Iriberri.

HAMRUN Manuel Bartolo, Alessio Capitelli (97’ Matthew Robert Gauci), Conor Borg (59’ Andre Scicluna), Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares, Clayton Failla, Nicola  Leone, Darren Borg, Karl Micallef, Carlos Manuel Flores (73’ Soufiane Lagzir), Valdo Goncalves Alhinho, Mattia Cinquini.

Referee: Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Paul Apap, Ivan Galea
Fourth Official: Etienne Mangion
Yellow Cards: Apap, Uzeh, Leone, Vella, Mbong, Bartolo, Alhinho, Soares, D. Borg