Bjorn Vassallo fails to get elected to UEFA EXCO

Malta FA President Bjorn Vassallo failed to get elected to the UEFA Executive Committee following an election which was held during the 47th Ordinary UEFA Congress in Lisbon, Portugal on Wednesday. Vassallo obtained 25 votes out of a possible 55.

Armand Duka (Albania) obtained 45 votes, Jesper Møller Christensen (Denmark) 42, Petr Fousek (Czechia) 40, Levan Kobiashvili (Georgia) 40, Luis Rubiales (Spain) 40, Philippe Diallo (France) 37 and Andrii Pavelko (Ukraine) 31. The other candidates were Lise Klaveness (Norway) who obtained 18 votes, Rod Petrie (Scotland) 15 and Hugo Quaderer (Liechtenstein) 25.

Laura McAllister (Wales) was also elected to the UEFA Executive Committee for a four-year term in the reserved seat for one female member. Hans-Joachim Watzke (Germany) was elected to the UEFA Executive Committee for a two-year term. Aleksander Čeferin was confirmed as UEFA president for another four-year term.

“Every journey towards an election is a learning experience”, said Vassallo following the congress. “This one gave me the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with peers from all UEFA Associations. I congratulate fellow candidates who have been elected for the forthcoming mandate of the UEFA Executive Committee. I come back from Lisbon as resolute as ever to continue our work implementing our strategy and to ensure the best representation possible for Maltese football in international fora as I have always done.”

The Malta FA congratulates Mr Ceferin on his re-election and looks forward to continue providing its contribution at all levels in European football.